Trainees tell their story.

My name is Reyhane, I’m 26 years old and I come from Iran.

I went to school there and graduated from high school. I did portrait drawing as an optional subject. After high school I worked as a photographer in a shop. I came to Germany in 2013.

My hobbies are photography, travel and I like swimming.

What is different in Germany?
„The culture and the lifestyle in general – and the weather!“
What difficulties did you have and how did you solve them?
„The German language is very difficult. It is also hard to live alone in Germany with no family, and to deal with people who aren’t so welcoming to refugees.“

What have we done so far and why is that good for us?

Did you take any preparatory courses for the vocational training?
"I took an entry qualification (EQ) at Siemens.

What is an entry qualification? This may make your vocational training easier. Let me explain:

You are in a company for at least six months and become familiar with various work tasks. I was able to work as a mechatronics engineer, industrial mechanic and electronics technician and learned a lot of German. After that I knew what I was good at and what I enjoyed doing. I then started my vocational training as an industrial engineer.
It can work out for you too. There are entry qualifications for all sectors in many companies. Just talk to your vocational guidance expert at your employment agency.“
How did you find it?
„A friend who was doing vocational training in electrical engineering at Siemens told me about this opportunity.“
What did you enjoy about it?
„The practical and manual work.“
Who supported you during your vocational training?
„Both the trainers and the tutors at the vocational school supported me and explained anything I didn’t understand. Problems with the language were slowly explained and concepts were described in other words.“

Why did we choose dual vocational training?

What is your current vocational training?
„I am doing vocational training as an industrial mechanic at Siemens in Berlin.“
Why did you choose dual vocational training?
„I always wanted to work in a practical career, and this is why I chose this vocational training.“
What is going well in your vocational training?
„Everything has been going really well up to now.“
What difficulties have you experienced?
„The language is still difficult, particularly the technical terms.“

What next?

What do you want for your future?
„I would like to improve my language skills and finish the vocational training with a very good qualification. I’d then like to have a stable job, a quiet life and do a lot of travelling.“

What tips can you give to other young refugees who may be interested in dual vocational training?

„Don’t be afraid of learning the language; you’ll get a lot of help. Work hard at the vocational training.

If you are interested in craftsmanship and practical work, you can easily work in the manual-craft and practical sector.

Women can also work in the craft sector. You can be a woman and be feminine, but still work in the craftsmanship-technical sector.

There is no “male” or “female” work. As a woman, you shouldn’t be afraid to assert yourself and prevail.“